klionteen.blogg.se

Macvim faster than terminal macvim
Macvim faster than terminal macvim




macvim faster than terminal macvim

It's on every platform and you can carry your configuration (or a very large set of it) everywhere. If you're fast with TextMate or Emacs or don't want to spend the time to learn something new, then Vim may very well not be for you. Vim enables a keyboard-optimized workflow that may make you faster. Don't expect Vim to make you build the right software faster. It is important, however, that in the larger software ecosystem, typing is not the bottleneck. The notion here is that you spend more time wrangling text rather than creating it from scratch.

macvim faster than terminal macvim

Vim may not make you faster ( in fact initially you'll be a lot slower) but it can fit your workflow better.Īnother big differentiator of Vim is Command Mode. Why Vim?īefore I get started with the basics of Vim, why would you use it in the first place?įor me it boils down to this: I love staying on the keyboard. In this post, I'll attempt to demonstrate a very sane Vim setup that newcomers can use to get started and not be too overwhelmed. If you snag a friend's set of Vim configuration files (like I did) you might find yourself frustrated that there's too much to learn and it's difficult to know where various behaviors are coming from. Talk to any Vim power-user and you'll find a completely different set of plugins & keyboard shortcuts. My initial frustrations with Vim were that it was too configurable. I still use TextMate frequently, but I've been ramping up on my Vim skills and I've recently come to a point where I think I'm pretty productive in it. It's used by many Rubyists, looks sexy, and is easily extended. For my Rails work, I've largely leaned on TextMate.






Macvim faster than terminal macvim